Cross the New River for FREE Starting Saturday, October 18th

The Downtown Fort Lauderdale Transportation Management Association (DFLTMA), in partnership with the City of Fort Lauderdale and Riverwalk Fort Lauderdale, will begin operation of the Riverwalk Water Trolley on Saturday, October 18, 2014. The new water trolley will operate from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. and 4 to 11 p.m. daily and stop at eight locations along the north and south side of the New River.

WaterTrolleyMapThe four designated stops on the north side of the river are:

  • Esplanade Park
  • Riverfront Plaza
  • Huizenga Plaza
  • Riverwalk Laura Ward Park

The four designated stops on the south side of the river are:

  • Smoker Park
  • Downtowner Saloon
  • New River Yacht Club
  • Tarpon River

image4The Riverwalk Water Trolley, operating on an environmentally friendly diesel electric engine, has seating for 48 passengers, is wheelchair accessible and offers bike stows.

Click HERE to read more about the new Riverwalk Water Trolley.

Join Top State and Local Leaders at eTownHall on October 9

Top State and Local Leaders, Including Congresswomen Debbie Wasserman Schultz and Lois Frankel, to Address Transportation Issues During Broward MPO’s eTownHall, October 9

Source: The below is an abbreviated version of the media release distributed by the City of Fort Lauderdale

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (October 3, 2014) – The Broward Metropolitan Planning Organization (Broward MPO) will host another “Let’s Talk Transportation” eTownHall on Thursday, October 9, the third of four interactive, televised public discussions regarding Broward’s transportation future as part of its Speak Up Broward public outreach initiative. The interactive discussion will be moderated by Jade Alexander, a well-known TV and radio personality.

The October 9th panel will include Representative Lois Frankel, U.S. Representative for Florida’s 22nd Congressional District; Representative Debbie Wasserman Schultz, U.S. Representative for Florida’s 23rd Congressional District; Barbara Sharief, Mayor, Broward County Board of County Commissioners, District 8; and Richard Blattner, Hollywood City Commissioner and Chair of the Broward Metropolitan Planning Organization.

The live eTownHall series is a chance for the public to have a voice in the discussion about the future of our transportation system. Participants can submit questions and comments to the panel as they discuss the current status of transportation in Broward and ways it can improve.

The eTownHall will air on BECON-TV (WBEC Channel 19 for Comcast users and Channel 63 for AT&T, dish Network and Direct TV users) and will stream live at The public can dial (877) 353-4701 to participate by phone and will have the opportunity to ask a question directly to the panelists during the event. The Broward MPO will continue to provide the opportunity to view and participate in these events from its offices, but there is limited capacity.

A final program will take place October 15 with panelists William L. Cross, P.E., Director of Planning and Capital Development South Florida Regional Transportation Authority; Mason C. Jackson, President/CEO Career Source Broward; Dave Wallace, Director Public Policy Advocacy, United Way of Broward County; and Greg Stuart, Executive Director of the Broward Metropolitan Planning Organization.

For more information, call (954) 641- 8141 or visit